In just a few steps, you can shut down your entire Yahoo Mail account and revoke access to your email address, remove all your emails, and prevent people from messaging you.
What Does It Mean to Delete a Yahoo Mail Account?
Deleting a Yahoo Mail account means not only that your emails will be removed and you’ll lose access to your account, but you’ll also no longer have access to your My Yahoo settings, your Flickr account and photos, and other data stored in Yahoo’s services.
If you’re paying for any Yahoo subscription services, remember to cancel these subscriptions first to avoid unexpected payments. The same is true if you have a Flickr Pro membership.
Closing your Yahoo account will not cancel automatic charges associated with your account. Once you close your Yahoo Mail account, anyone who tries to send a message to the email address will immediately receive a delivery failure message. To avoid confusion and concern, be sure you tell your friends and contacts that you are about to close your Yahoo Mail account — both from the email address you plan to use in the future (so they can easily reply to reach you) and from your Yahoo Mail address (to make sure the message is received).Source: lifewire
Close or reactivate your Yahoo account
You can close your Yahoo account at any time. Before doing so, please review the following info to understand what this action means for your account and your data.
What happens after my account is closed?
You’ll lose access to all of your data and content like your emails, email folders, Flickr photos, calendars, Yahoo Fantasy teams, and Yahoo Finance portfolios.
Close your Yahoo account
Active subscriptions – You can only close your account if it has no remaining balance and it’s been 90 days since you’ve canceled any subscriptions. Visit My Subscriptions to cancel paid services and pay account balances.
- Sign in to the Yahoo account termination page.
- Read the info on terminating your account.
- Use the on-screen prompts to continue.
Recover your Yahoo account
Your account will be reactivated if you sign in to it within 30 days of closing it, with longer hold periods for accounts registered in Australia, India, or New Zealand (90 days), and Brazil, Hong Kong, or Taiwan (180 days).
- Sign in to your account.
- Verify your recovery information.
- Create a new password or click Continue.
How to delete Your Yahoo mail Account?
Step by Step process as follows;
- Go to the account termination page at https://edit.yahoo.com/config/delete_user.
- Login to your account with the Yahoo! ID, and password of the account that you want to delete.
- Enter your password in the field box that you’ll see on that page.
- Enter the captcha code.
- Now simply click “Terminate Account” and you are done!