According to Wikipedia – Facebook, Inc. is an American social media and technology company based in Menlo Park, California. It was founded by Mark Zuckerberg, along with fellow Harvard College students and roommates Eduardo Saverin, Andrew McCollum, Dustin Moskovitz, and Chris Hughes, originally as TheFacebook.com—today’s Facebook, popular global social networking website.
So, here How To Delete Online teaches you how you can delete your Facebook account permanently. Deleting your Facebook account used to be a long and tedious process, but not anymore. We’ll show you how to easily deactivate your account, or delete it forever if you’re done with social media – yes, there’s a big difference between the two.
To find out more about that, as well as learn how to remove specific content from your Facebook profile, check out our in-depth guide below. Let’s face it: using Facebook really doesn’t do any favors for your privacy online. You’ll probably remind yourself of all the big scandals that have happened recently.
How do I permanently delete my Facebook account?
What happens if I permanently delete my Facebook account?
- You won’t be able to reactivate your account.
- Your profile, photos, posts, videos, and everything else you’ve added will be permanently deleted. You won’t be able to retrieve anything you’ve added.
- You’ll no longer be able to use Facebook Messenger.
- You won’t be able to use Facebook Login for other apps you may have signed up for with your Facebook account, like Spotify or Pinterest. You may need to contact the apps and websites to recover those accounts.
- Some information, like messages you sent to friends, may still be visible to them after you delete your account. Copies of messages you have sent are stored in your friends’ inboxes.
What if I don’t want all my content deleted, but I want to take a break from Facebook? You can take a break from Facebook and temporarily deactivate your account. When you temporarily deactivate your account:
- People won’t be able to see or go to your Facebook profile.
- Your photos, posts, and videos won’t be deleted.
- You can still use Facebook Messenger. Your profile picture will still be visible in your conversations and people will still be able to search for you by name to send you a message. You will continue to appear to friends on Facebook in places where they can message you.
- You can still use Facebook Login for your other apps, like Spotify, Pinterest or Games.
- You can choose to come back whenever you want.
How do I permanently delete my account?
Before deleting your account, you may want to log in and download a copy of your information (like your photos and posts) from Facebook. After your account has been deleted, you won’t be able to retrieve anything you’ve added. To permanently delete your account:
- Click at the top right of any Facebook page.
- Click Settings then click Your Facebook Information in the left column.
- Click Deactivation and Deletion.
- Choose Delete Account, then click Continue to Account Deletion.
- Enter your password, click Continue and then click Delete Account.
Can I cancel my account deletion?
If it’s been less than 30 days since you initiated the deletion, you can cancel your account deletion. After 30 days, your account and all your information will be permanently deleted, and you won’t be able to retrieve your information.
It may take up to 90 days from the beginning of the deletion process to delete all the things you’ve posted. While we’re deleting this information, it’s not accessible to other people using Facebook. Copies of your information may remain after the 90 days in backup storage that we use to recover in the event of a disaster, software error, or other data loss event.
We may also keep your information for things like legal issues, terms violations, or harm prevention efforts. Learn more about our Data Policy. To cancel your account deletion:
- Log into your Facebook account within 30 days of deleting your account.
- Click Cancel Deletion.